Strawberry, Goji and Adzuki Bean Brownies. Yup, they’re gluten free and gonna help you loose weight!

June 18, 2013 — 5 Comments
Moist and light and nutritious

Moist and light and nutritious

I have to start off by apologising. I certainly don’t post enough gluten free here. I was gluten intolerant for a bit – which was harrowing – then I fixed things up by cleaning up my diet and stress levels and loading up on pro-biotics and been fine ever since. I was lucky, I got onto it early.

Despite how much I could eat pasta for breakfast, lunch and dinner, I like to ease the load on my digestive system. When I heard about them, I couldn’t help but to try them myself. I really do love beans.

I’ve added a Chinese Medicine flourish to these ones, swapping Black Beans for Adzuki beans. The Adzuki beans have a natural sweetness all of their own, which you might recognise the from Red Bean Bao (Chinese steamed red bean buns), so you’ll find that unlike the gluten free products you get in the stores, these treats aren’t laden with sugar (and salt). In fact, I’ve dropped the sugar from 1/2 c to 1/3 c from the original recipe.

Nutritionally, Adzuki’s are said to strengthen the Fire element organs, removing excess heat toxin from the body and aiding small intestine function. They’re also great for drying damp conditions that manifest in oedema, leukorrhea, ascites, diarrhoea, and most importantly, they promote weight loss. Resembling miniature Kidneys, guess what? They also tonify these vital organs, strengthening the lower back, knees, bones and brain function. The only caution would be that any thin and dry people consume with caution, as it’ll exasperate your dryness – and thiness. Check your tongue in the mirror; if you have a thick coating anywhere (yellow or white) you’ll have damp internally. A lot of us do.

I’ve also added goji berries to counter too much drying and benefit blood – our version of a car’s need for oil – and boost immunity through the change of seasons which both north and southern hemisphere can benefit from. Walnuts will also boost the Kidney tonifying functions of both Adzuki beans and Goji Berries.

And the strawberry? Well that comes from Lindt Excellence Strawberry Intense chocolate. Possibly the best chocolate on the planet. If you can’t find the chocolate, try using freeze dried strawberries with dark chocolate chips…I find freeze dried fruit at gourmet health food stores.

You’ll be surprised at how light and how wheat like the consistency comes out. I heard about it, I read about it but wasn’t convinced until I tried it for myself. Not being the strongest baker – it being rather technical form of cookery – this recipe isn’t as finicky if flour were required and a careful hand not to overwork the batter.

Strawberry, Goji and Adzuki Bean Brownies

Makes 16

Adzuki bean brownie portions

Adapted from this Wholefoods recipe (thanks to my old school buddy for the inspiration. You know how you are! x)

1 x 425g can adzuki beans. I buy this brand from wholefoods stores easily enough here in Australia
3 large eggs*, seperated
1/3 cup melted butter*, more for the baking dish
1/4 cup dutch cocoa powder
1/3 cup vanilla sugar (or just plain caster sugar with 1 tsp vanilla bean paste)
1/2 cup Lindt Excellence Strawberry Intense chocolate*, broken into small pieces
1/3 cup walnuts
handful goji berries
* if you want to make it vegan, make the appropriate substitutes here.

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 180°C / 350°F.
  • Butter and line a 8-inch baking pan.
  • In a food processor, blitz walnuts and goji’s until crumbly (not too fine, still chunky-ish). Transfer to your mixing bowl
  • Next blitz the adzuki beans and egg yolks to form a smooth paste
  • Separately whisk egg whites until soft peaks form
  • Add the beans, melted butter, cocoa powder, vanilla sugar, chocolate pieces in the bowl with walnuts and goji’s and mix well
  • Gently fold in the egg whites
  • Transfer mixture to the prepared pan
  • Bake the brownies for 30 to 35 minutes, or until just set in the center (a tester stick should come out clean). Cool before cutting into squares.
Mix these ingredients together first

Step1: Mix these ingredients together first

Step 2: Then gently fold in the eggwhites

Step 2: Then gently fold in the whisked egg whites

Step 3: Bake and voila!

Step 3: Bake, allow to cool and enjoy!

5 responses to Strawberry, Goji and Adzuki Bean Brownies. Yup, they’re gluten free and gonna help you loose weight!

  1. 

    These look so good and really unusual. I really need to give them a go. I made some healthy gluten free brownies and they are totally tasty with 120 kals a slice. Here is a link to the recipe http://bit.ly/12Zks7Y

  2. 

    Yum yum yum. I love the idea of Strawberry, Goji and Adzuki Bean brownies, they look too tasty. I made some super healthy gluten free brownies and they turned out really super tasty. Here is the link http://bit.ly/12Zks7Y 🙂

  3. 

    I am SO GLAD I found your blog. I just started acupuncture and I’ve wondered what recipes to try for Liver Qi Stagnation and Spleen Qi Deficiency. I know I’ll learn a lot from this blog and I just may try out this brownie recipe this weekend.

    Thank you!

    • 

      Hi Amber, that’s a fabulous question and a blog post of an answer. I’ll endeavour to post about Liver Qi stagnation diet soon. As far as Spleen deficiency, you’ll find lots of content on this here blog already (including About page) for how to eat to benefit the Spleen.
      Look after yourself, Becki xx

Leave a Reply

