A Sardinian Breakfast. By the way…where is Sardinia?

May 2, 2013 — 2 Comments
363bfbd0ae1611e2b9c422000a1f968f_6

Typical Sardinian Breakfast. My version sans poached eggs. Because I suck at poached eggs.

Sardina. Located off the west coast of Italy and second largest island in the great salty pond known as the Mediterranean, to Sicily. Known for it’s long living folk who feast off simple meals with bountiful fresh produce grown locally.

Sounds like a great way to start the morning.

This breakfast was made for me recently and adapted from A Sardinian Cookbook by Giovanni Pilu and Roberta Muir. I have to say the Turkish can reclaim their baked eggs and the whoever’s, their eggs benedict*. Me? I’m all Sardinian (even though I’m a bastard breed of Northern Italian and whatever goes into making up Australian).

Ahem, anyways onto the recipe. Quite easy. All you need is pane carasau / pane di musica…not that economical, quick to make or easy to find, so I substituted with split and toasted wholemeal pitas – I used the mini kind – or you can try Lavosh. Layer 4 pieces per serve with a good quality passata, which I used my own by first soaking tomatoes in boiling water (about 1 minute) then peeling and seeding. Roughly chop the flesh and simmer for 20 – 40 mins with a pinch of salt and a bay leaf. More economical if doing in large batches and buying end-of-season, not-quite-perfect tomatoes. Also add shaved parmesan and fresh basil in the layers. If you’re like me and don’t have fresh basil on hand, but have salvaged bunches of basil before it goes off and minced in a food processor and drowned in olive oil and pinch of salt to be stored in the refrigerator, you’re going to be in luck.

Ideally you want to top with a couple of poached eggs since this particular morning I couldn’t poach an egg if my life depended on it. I took the picture above sans poached eggs (but still ate the little rascals anyway).

world's worst poached eggs

It takes pure talent to achieve poached eggs like this.

What makes this simple breakfast so delectable, I reckon is the slathering of tomatoes that are rich in umami…that I-can’t-get-enough-of-it savoury yumminess. I also happens to be filling and uncomplicated. Kinda like how I prefer my men.

Sardinian breakfast. Tomato passata, parmesan, basil, pane di musica, poached eggs

Possibly better looking than mine. But both were as tasty as each other.

*Wikipedia doesn’t know the originator of eggs benedict, therefore subsequently, neither do I.

2 responses to A Sardinian Breakfast. By the way…where is Sardinia?

  1. 

    is this a joke? I’m Sardinian and i don’t realise the obsession of totally incompetent people towards us! None of those foods written here are part of sardinian breakfast, none of the foods shown in those pics are sardinian (Pizza??? Mozzarella??? wtf???)…. and Sardinia is located on the west of Italy, not east!

    • 

      Hi there! Thanks for the correction – this was clearly a big fat typo on my behalf. Of course Sardinia is off the west coast. Don’t know what I was thinking.

      Anyway, about your other concerns, I totally adapted this recipe from a Sardinian cookbook that has been written for the non-authentic Sardinian audience. I’m sorry if this has caused offence. It’s just meant to loosely be based around the concept which I learned about from the book. I’m yet to visit Sardinia – can’t wait to go one day!

      Anyway, thanks for your comment, have a great day.

Leave a Reply

