Food is enjoyable AND functional

February 4, 2013 — Leave a comment

20130204-103913.jpg

It’s ok to eat just for pleasure, a friend and I were discussing recently. As a hard core foodie, he thinks the level of enjoyment is diminished when we think of food in terms of vitamins, proteins, carbs and so on. I wholeheartedly agree.

I’ve experienced first-hand how healing food can be. I’ve studied it (relentlessly) and have seen the results in others. Food is medicine. I’ve also seen and experienced how damaging food can be, how the wrong foods can diminish our enjoyment of life. Anyone who eats a Maccas burger after years will know what I mean.

Just because there is a functional element to food, this shouldn’t take away the pleasure in dining and sharing food with family and friends. In fact I would say this would ad to the experience.

I had a wedding on the weekend and was enjoying smoked potato mousse with crudités. It was extremely tasty and innovative.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

