Fancy pants breakfast

November 10, 2010 — 13 Comments

Fancy pants breakfast oatmeal*

So when you’re eating the same thing for breakfast everyday, how do you keep it interesting? After all, a foodie never puts up with bland, and a foodiecurian never puts up with bland or unhealthy.

Lately I’ve been making my breakfast oatmeal like this:

Cook up your oats with linseed as per usual. Once cooked, spoon into a bowl and dollop on a good tsp of organic coconut oil (good for so many things, internally and externally), a good spoonful of rapadura sugar and if you’re feeling particularly sweet-toothed a tsp of good quality raw honey, sliced banana, a sprinkle of cacao nibs (I bought the kind soaked in cane sugar) and add a slurp of bonsoy soy milk.

Enjoy!

*food styling by Big D

13 responses to Fancy pants breakfast

  1. 

    Oh My YUMMY… when am I coming over for brekkie? xo

  2. 

    I’m gonna give it a go! So you cook the linseed with the oats. not sprinkle on after?

  3. 

    Yes just pop the linseeds in there with the oats. The outer shell is tough and protects the delicate volitile oils of the linseeds within. Just chew really well to crack the seeds to access all those gorgeous nutrients.

  4. 

    WOW! I found this site on Yahoo looking for something totally unrelated, now I’m gonna need to read through the old material 🙂 So long spare time today, but this was a great find 😀

  5. 

    I’ve been searching for cacao nibs all over! Do you have any recommendations on where to find them? I feel like I’ve tried every health food store in Los Angeles!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Almond eyes: almond milk &; almond flour « Foodiecure - December 15, 2010

    […] pour over your fancy pants breakfast to make a fancier-pantsier breakfast and use in place you would soy or cow’s milk. No […]

  2. Love your Spleen – TCM tongue diagnosis and case study « Foodiecure - January 3, 2011

    […] and fuit on it’s own. Since I’ve just killed all your breakfast options you can try my fancy pants breakfast or my awesome oatmeal (or create your own version). Play around with different grain porridges and […]

  3. 6 Reasons Why I Love Virgin Coconut Oil « Foodiecure - February 4, 2011

    […] when I’m eating breakfast and dreading going to work. I scoop dollops of the stuff on my fancy pants breakfast and the slick of silky oil gives a pleasant […]

  4. Eating right on the road, Chinese Medicine style « Foodiecure - March 24, 2011

    […] we’d shopped up an organic storm at Wholefoods and we whipped up the fancy pants breakfast, adding goji berries into the porridge. I couldn’t find rapadura sugar, so […]

  5. Breakfast Inspiration. Lavender & Coconut Oatmeal with Chia Seeds. « foodiecure - February 23, 2012

    […] the oatmeal (here and here), adding some fragrant and naturally sweet coconut shavings, some chia seeds for superfood […]

  6. 6 Reasons Why I Love Virgin Coconut Oil « foodiecure « Donez Weblog - December 25, 2012

    […] beach when I’m eating breakfast and dreading going to work. I scoop dollops of the stuff on my fancy pants breakfast and the slick of silky oil gives a pleasant […]

Leave a Reply

