Cleansing raw veg salad and parmes-almond (vegan parmesan)

November 3, 2010 — 2 Comments
 

Cleansing raw veg salad, Spaghetti Napolitana with Parmes-almond

Tonight’s dinner was a bit of a cafe-style whip up, but was effective for a mid-week meal on the fly. Along with being tasty it was healthy-as (it’s what we aim for here at foodiecure).

I had some left over napolitana sauce – which I might add I happen to make a darn nice one – and chucked in some olives, cook up some organic egg pasta and there you have it! The napolitana also doubles as a tasty pizza sauce too. The ingenious thing about dinner tonight was the *gasp* vegan parmesan made from the very ingredients in my cupboard! Lynda Stoner’s Now Vegan! cookbook provided the recipe for this one.

You can make your own too (I’ve quartered the recipe since it makes quite a lot).

Parmes-almond
1/4 c. almond meal
1/8 c. savoury yeast flakes
1 Tblsp celtic seasalt
Mix and serve.

Along with the well documented health benefits of almonds and the vast minerals contained in celtic seasalt, savoury yeast flakes are a good source of B vitamins for Vegans and Vegos. It is cheesy-esque and adds a whole other dimension to your dishes while being very pleasing on the palate.

I served my pasta with a raw salad inspired from many dining experiences at Wholefoods in Austin, Tx earlier this year (personally I think mine is way better).

Close up: cleansing raw veg salad

Cleansing Raw Food salad
In a food processor, whizz up some washed broccoli, cauliflower and carrot (skin on) until it resembles bread crumbs.
Make a dressing with apple cider vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper, finely chopped corriander, 1 tsp of brown sugar, soy sauce, mix in with the vegetables and let marinate for 5 minutes. Finally add a good sprinkle of Spiral Foods‘ Sesame and Sea Vegetable shake and a small drizzle of toasted sesame oil and serve at room temperature.

A darn fine way to get some raw super-veg into your daily feed.

Oh, and just because they were so awesome, here’s a pic of the roast rosemary and garlic kipfler potatoes I made on Sunday night:

The perfect roast spud

Honestly, they were the best I’ve ever made – no parboiling required! They were fluffly and light in the centre and oh-so-crispy on the outside and kind of popped when you bit into them. Can you see how the surface has kind of bubbled on them? Yarm! I think the trick was using vegetable oil rather than the customary olive oil since it reaches a higher temperature.”Derr” you might be thinking, but over the years I’ve tried all the tricks to get roast potato perfection; goose fat (back in my definitely non-vegan days), parboiling, heating the tray first, super hot ovens, etc etc but they’ve never came out this good. Kipfler ‘taters are a winner for roasting too – so I guess that helped. Or maybe it was because they were organic from my beloved Melbourne Showgrounds Farmers Market. Regardless, I coated them in oil, salt, pepper, herbs, smashed garlic and cooked them in my fan-forced oven for about 35-40 minutes on 180 degrees C. Note to self: add garlic halfway through cooking so they remain a bit juicy.

Please comment, feedback appreciated 🙂

2 responses to Cleansing raw veg salad and parmes-almond (vegan parmesan)

  1. 

    Becki,
    I love the raw salad and I am definately going to make that myself this week. I looks so easy and would be so good for you.
    And seeing as potatoes are one of my favourite foods period, I have to say your ‘roasties’ are making my mouth water… great job. I think roasemary is just the perfect accompaniment for ‘taters’.

    PS- Another way I have been told by a chef (it’s a bit of a trade secret apparently) that you can get roast potatoes (and chips) extra crunchy when you roast or bake them… is to peel and cut them up, then place them in a bowl with a generous pinch of salt (I use Maldons, it;s organic) for about 20 minutes prior to cooking. Then wipe them off with paper towel as the salting leaches a lot of the moisture out. This way they don’t steam as much from the inside during cooking.

    • 

      That’s a good tip – thanks Michael. But then, if they water content drops how do you get the fluffy insides?? I’ll give it a go and let you know. Got some left over kipflers right for the job 😀

Leave a Reply

