In the pantry: 31 Aug 2010

September 1, 2010 — 3 Comments

Onion Bhajis with spicy sweet-and-sour tomato relish

This was my little winter warmer dinner last night. It’s worthy to note that I added a drizzle of tahini to the curry after taking the photo and it teamed delishiously (is that a word?).

Eggplant and spinach curry with basmati, onion bhajis, relish and minted yoghurt

I got the recipe for the curry out of one of the original Vegetarian cookbooks – The Moosewood Cookbook. It is made up of mustard seeds (which pop in your mouth when you eat them), sesame seeds, tumeric and cayenne pepper. The spinach and tahini were my own addition.

These beautiful light and fluffy onion bhajis are from a little inconsequential vegetarian cookbook requiring only 4 ingredients. Chickpea flour (also known as besean flour) provides a yummy nutty flavour that compliments the sweetness of cooked onion. It goes really fluffy when cooked which I particularly liked. Next time I will experiment with adding in some Indian-type flavours to spice ’em up a bit. The spicy sweet-and-sour relish is from the same book and which went perfect with the more basic version of these bhajis, as did a little minted yoghurt.

3 responses to In the pantry: 31 Aug 2010

  1. 

    Oh Becki,
    Can you please make a batch of those onion bhajis’ and have them couriered immediately to my office??? LOL
    I know it’s only 8am but they look seriously good and I’m now starting to think about what I’m going to have for lunch.
    There is a little Indian restaurant in Kowloon (Hong Kong) called Woodlands that are famous for their Onion Bhajis. People come from all over to enjoy these light, savoury, crispy delights.
    I think yours might just give them a run for their money!

    • 

      Well you know Michael, that’s not such a bad idea. I’ve been seriously thinking about doing something similar; a home-cooked meal delivery service for busy executives. Cheaper than a personal chef, healthier than eating out. I do need some guinea pigs at a reduced rate if you’re willing??? šŸ™‚

      • 

        Becki,
        I’d be more than happy to pay money for your cooking from what I see here. And I have a few colleagues that are organic only eaters as well. Seriously, it’s not a bad idea and I for one would love to be able to eat healthy, quality produce even on those ‘hectic’ days in the office. And I’m sure i’m not alone!
        Oh, and to top it off…. una Padre Latte e una sugo per favore…

Leave a Reply

